The Monster In Our Heads

Fear is the monster in all of our heads. It is the reason that we question so many things. “What if I made the wrong job choice?” “What if I don’t make new friends here?” “What if I end up hating it and let myself and so many others around me down?” We spend our whole lives asking questions, and worrying. But if we are constantly doing that, how are we ever supposed to grow as humans, and expand our cultural knowledge?

At some point the self doubt has to stop. It is true, we are our own worst enemies. The only thing stopping us is ourselves. We have to trust in the way of the universe.

I had always thought college was the biggest decision of my life. I was wrong. Figuring out what I want to do with my career for the rest of my life was definitely the biggest choice. It is something that is constantly hanging over me, especially with the fact that I am moving so far away. I keep thinking about how much will change when I come back in two years, how much I will miss out on.

However, I know for me I need to go out and experience something for myself. I need to experience something real, without the help of my family and friends. The monster in my head has to be tackled, self doubt has to disappear, and I need to believe in  the path layed out ahead of me.

Leave a Reply

